

Chancellor of the Exchequer The Rt Hon Rishi Sunak MP HM Treasury Unit 1 Horse Guards Rd Westminster London SW1A 2HQ

6 March 2020

Dear Chancellor,

The upcoming budget is an opportunity for the Government to make inroads into its manifesto promise to "invest in preventing disease as well as curing it". The current Government response to COVID19 underlines the importance of a strong health and care system. Now is the time for the Government to recognise the sheer scale of the challenges facing our NHS and social care services. We have an ageing society living with multiple health conditions, growing health and economic inequalities, an NHS and social care workforce at breaking point, a tired NHS estate and a fragile social care system.

Additional NHS funding announced by the last Prime Minister was a welcome boost, but this will only keep the system ticking over. This Government has an opportunity to create a healthier, happier and fairer well-led society where health and wellbeing are at the centre of all policies. From education to employment and housing, transport to the environment; a legacy that would be remembered for generations to come.

This will only be achieved through sustained investment into the health and social care system however. We are calling on the Government to use this budget to invest in public health and social care. The Local Government Association puts the Adult Social Care funding gap at £3.6 billion by 2024/25 and the Advisory Committee on Resource Allocation calculates that public health similarly needs an extra £3.2 billion.

The NHS does not operate in isolation. It is part of a wider health and care ecosystem, and the Government must recognise that unless we invest in all parts of the system, plans for truly integrated care will never be realised. This would mean patients being failed, and demand on the NHS continuing to grow in an unmanaged way. The time to invest is now.

We urge you to seize the opportunity to create a healthier and more prosperous nation.

Yours Sincerely,

ter.

Professor Donal O'Donoghue Registrar Royal College of Physicians

Professor David Burn President Association of British Neurologists

Charlotte Lynnp

Dr Charlotte Agrup President British Association of Audiovestibular Physicians

Sirian. Kay

Professor Simon Ray President British Cardiovascular Society

Julbuck

Dr John Buscombe President British Nuclear Medicine Society

Kotorbertey

Katy Amberley Chief Executive British Society for Haematology

lain hausie

Dr Iain Lawrie President Association for Palliative Medicine of Great Britain & Ireland

Professor David Cunningham Chair Association of Cancer Physicians

Rush Murphy

Dr Ruth Murphy President British Association of Dermatologists

almonasud

Professor Tahir Masud President British Geriatrics Society

hurrand

Professor Sir Munir Pirmohamed President British Pharmacological Society

Dr Elizabeth Price President British Society for Rheumatology

Magi

Dr Dinesh Nagi Chairman Association of British Clinical Diabetologists

Dr John McSorley President British Association for Sexual Health & HIV

Rustam Al-Shahi Salman

Professor Rustam Al-Shahi Salman President British Association of Stroke Physicians

Martin Llevel

Professor Martin Llewelyn President British Infection Association

Dr Adam Fox President British Society for Allergy and Clinical Immunology

Jong Brown

Doug Brown Chief Executive British Society for Immunology

K. Walton

Dr Krystyna Walton President British Society of Rehabilitation Medicine

./ MUS

Margaret Stark President Faculty of Forensic and Legal Medicine

In Wille

Professor Tim Higenbottam President Faculty of Pharmaceutical Medicine

Dr Jon Bennett Chair Board of Trustees British Thoracic Society



Peter Lees Chief Executive Faculty of Medical Leadership and Management

Kate Straughton President Faculty of Physician Associates

Inche

Dr Frances Elmslie President Clinical Genetics Society

Arie H de Bous

Dr Anne de Bono President Faculty of Occupational Medicine

Rae Magge

Professor Maggie Rae President Faculty of Public Health

Dr John Etherington President Faculty of Sports and Exercise Medicine

Dr Ganesh Suntharalingham President Intensive Care Society

Thatker

Professor Rajesh Thakker President Society of Endocrinology